Skip to content

Wishing the Weekend Would Curry Up and Get Here

October 15, 2010

There’s your hint for lunch today. Pun intended.

Yoga last night was a bit of a disappointment. The instructor’s focus for this month is “hips,” But most of the class was spent doing crazy spine-twisting moves with only the occasional hip stretch.

At the risk of sounding a little pompous– it just wasn’t challenging. I’ve been running consistently for about a year and a half now, so I’m well-acquainted with the lunge stretch. That basically made up the majority of the hips workout. I like vinyasa much, much better. Oh yeah, and the fact that he didn’t end the class with any kind of meditation was a little disappointing. I think I’ll switch to a new instructor until this month’s “theme” is over.

The Eats

I headed over to Starbucks this morning to break in one of the gift cards my mom sent me!

I had a tall latte, made with nonfat milk. There’s so much milk in lattes that I always drink them unsweetened. They remind me so much of cafe con leche from back home. 🙂

Spinach feta wraps are my FAVORITE “fast food” breakfast. Thanks again for the Sbux giftcards, Mom!

For lunch I put a spicy and Indian twist on an old favorite and made… CURRY CHICKEN SALAD!

Here’s a step-by-step of how lunch came about…

First, I cooked 2 chicken breast tenders in a pan with a few sprays of olive oil, TJ’s Everyday Seasoning, and a few sprinkles of curry powder.

Note: The scent of curry tends to stay on you ’til you shower. So if you’re planning on heading somewhere nice later, plan to cook with curry pre-shower. Unless your friends/date likes the smell of curry?

After the chicken was fully cooked, I put it on a plate and got ready for bed while they cooled (I make my lunch the night before, in case you were wondering why I get ready for bed right before lunchtime… thought I wouldn’t mind a noon nap!).

Teeth brushed: check. Contacts out: check. Super-thick glasses on: check!

I shredded the chicken, added a dollop of nonfat Greek yogurt, a little more curry, and some mixed dried berries. Golden raisins would work well, too!

And then? Mix it all up and serve it! I ate mine on top of half a sandwich thin, but there was definitely enough chicken to eat over two. Other good ways of serving it would be with some thinly sliced apples in between the sandwich thin and the salad or on a bed of spinach. Either way, it was delicious!

I ate mine with two pieces of some goodies that were brought in from a Cuban bakery– an almond pastry and pain au chocolat (yes.. French, from a Cuban bakery… I know). They were good, but soo sugary!

I’m hoping for more fall weather soon. It’s gotten way too hot lately… and it’s already October.

Looks like it’s getting there next week… slowly but surely!

Look for It Tomorrow

I’m headed to a food truck festival in Valencia! Per usual for Saturday, I’ll probably start the day off with a good run, and then I’ll figure out a way to use the rest of those frozen bananas in the fridge. Hrmm… WHATEVER COULD I MAKE? 😉

Spoiler alert: It’s probably going to contain pumpkin. And banana soft serve, of course.

Have a great Friday night!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

