Skip to content

Social Life: In, Cooking: Out

October 13, 2010

I don’t make plans during the week too often. It messes with my schedule big time and always puts me behind. But sometimes… life happens. Namely, my social life happens.

So today, you’ll see how I deal with days where I didn’t have time to make ANYTHING in advance.

The Eats

For breakfast, it takes just as long to throw together some pumped-up cereal or toast with nut butter and fruit than it does to pop a sugar-laden Pop-Tart or toaster strudel in the toaster. And it takes LESS time than going through a drive-thru (it’s cheaper, too).

This morning, I had a bowl of cereal, pumped up with some pumpkin granola and lots of fresh blueberries.

It was my first time trying this cereal, and I think I’ve found a new favorite. It tastes just like Life cereal!

I tried Trader Joe’s pumpkin granola. It’s very different from Nature’s Path Pumpkin Flax, but still pretty tasty. I liked the addition of raisins. TJ’s version also had an extra– and welcome– punch of spice.

Lunch was– gasp!— a frozen meal.

I used to eat Lean Cuisines almost every day of the week, until I turned them over and read the massive ingredients list. Try it. See how many ingredients you don’t recognize. Scary, right? Not the case with this brand. Take a look at the ingredients list:

Not bad, right? As usual with frozen foods, it has quite a bit of sodium (from sea salt! no scary sodium additives), but I just downed a little extra water. It tasted so good!

I had it with the rest of the baked platanos maduros for dessert.

Snack is a Larabar and an apple, and pre-Trainer Erike dinner is the usual almond butter-and-jelly sandwich. In case you’re wondering why I eat the same thing before I meet with my trainer, it’s both because it’s light and because I know how my body reacts to it. If I’m about to do an intense workout, I don’t want to be bothered with feeling a little iffy after food. Some whole grains, healthy fat, protein, and a little sugar works just fine before a tough workout.

Look for It Tomorrow

Back to cooking! Late session with Trainer Erika will probably keep me from cooking anything super-fancy, but it won’t be frozen. And it’ll definitely be spicy. 🙂 Yoga is tomorrow night, too.

Have a great Wednesday… two more days ’til the weekend!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

