Skip to content

Cookies and Cuban

October 12, 2010

For some reason, I always wake up in the best mood the morning after I do yoga. I’m kind of addicted to the calm, happy mood I open my eyes to. Kind of makes me want to do a little bit every night!

The Workout

Back to the gym this morning! My abs were a little tender from the yoga last night, so I kept it short.

  • 15 minutes straight running
  • 10 minutes of cardio intervals
  • abs
    • boat pose- 10 second holds, 10 rep crunches (3 sets), hold boat pose for 30 seconds
    • leg lowers and holds- 4 sets of 10-second leg lowers and 10-second holds
    • stability ball planks 20 seconds both legs, 10 seconds each leg, back to both legs for 20 seconds, rest, then hold with both legs for 45 seconds

I’m getting really flexible! I’m usually pretty stiff in the morning, but I was able to put my nose to my knees during my after-workout cooldown stretch. A first for the morning!

The Eats

Thanks to a recipe from Ashley at The Edible Perspective (if you don’t already read her blog, please do– I get so many ideas from her!), I had COOKIES for breakfast. Mom’s 3-Minute Oatmeal Cookie, to be exact.

I was just going to post how I changed her recipe, but then I realized between doubling the recipe, taking some stuff out, and adding others in, it was just confusing. So here is her genius recipe, with a few things that I altered.

Brittany’s take on Ashley’s “Mom’s 3-Minute Oatmeal Cookie”

makes 2 cookies

  • 1/2 c rolled oats
  • 2 egg whites (1/4 c if you use liquid egg whites)
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • capful of vanilla extract (maple extract would also be good)
  • 1 tablespoon chopped 100% dark chocolate (if you can’t handle the bitter taste of 100%, try something between 70-80%)*
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/3 c pumpkin (DUH… OF COURSE I USED PUMPKIN)

Mix/mash all the ingredients together until mixed well. Separate the batter evenly between 2 bowls (or cut down on the dishes and take turns with one bowl), and microwave each separately for 3 minutes.

*I find it’s best to put chocolate in the fridge before chopping. It crumbles easier.

I topped both with half a mashed banana. I’m out of coconut water/forgot to buy it last weekend, so the banana was my post-workout potassium boost.

The mashed banana on top made for just the right amount of sweetness, since I used less than half the sugar the original recipe called for.

I got suckered into buying a six-pack of these guys over the weekend (“What’s that? You’re going to give me a free iced pumpkin spice latte if I buy your flavored instant coffee? Okay, finnnne.”)…

… but some co-workers stopped by my office and asked if I wanted to walk over to Starbucks. I can’t turn down a Starbucks bold blend. So I just got a tall, because I really didn’t need a huge energy boost this morning (See what I mean about doing yoga the night before? So energized today.).

With lunch comes quite the story. I talked to my Abuela Bellita (pronouned “a-WELL-a   beh-YEE-tah”) on my way to work this morning, and bits of our conversation went something like this…

Me: Hi, Abuela, how ARE you?

Abuela: I fine, Breeny, how you doing? You still eh-skeeny? You gain any weight back?

Me: Uh.. nope. Still the same.

Abuela: Oh, that is good.

Me: So anyway, I made some healthy Cuban food for lunch today! I made frijoles negros, some mojo chicken with avocado, and some baked platanos maduros.

Abuela: Breeny, be careful with dee rice. It weel make you eh-fat.

Me: Abuela, I didn’t make rice. But thanks.

I know it comes from a warm place, but I was a little frazzled after that phone call. Oh, Abuela… there’s more to life than being skinny and not eating rice.

Now that I’ve basically already told you my lunch, here it is in picture form (and no, Abuela, I told you I didn’t make rice).

Black beans, mojo chicken, and a little less than 1/4 an avocado, chopped. Half a baked platano maduro (ripe plantain) on the side.

The mojo marinade from the chicken seeped into the black beans, giving it just enough of a citrusy, garlicky flavor. The avocados were really ripe, so they mashed easily into the beans and chicken.

Both platanos maduros (ripe plantains) and tostones (green plantains, served salted) are traditionally fried. After today, though, I think I’ve discovered a permanent addition to my healthy Cuban food repertoire. All I did was chop a ripe plantain (here’s what a ripe plantain looks like)  into four pieces and bake it for 20 minutes at 350 degrees. They were so sweet without an ounce of added sugar, it was like eating dessert. And I’ve still got the other half to devour tomorrow. 🙂

I tried another brand of yogurt for snack today– Wallaby’s Organic Dark Chocolate Down Under. It was pretty tasty, but the sugar content was still a little too high for my liking. 27 grams? Oh boy. I think it’s back to plain Greek yogurt with fruit!

For dinner, I used the Orowheat Sandwich Thins as a burger bun for my Trader Joe’s Chili Chicken Lime burger + cheese + spinach + nonfat Greek yogurt.

… and had a sliced kiwi for dessert. YUM!

Look for It Tomorrow

See how I deal with a busy day, where I have zero time to cook anything but still keep it healthy!

Have a great night!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. actorsdiet permalink
    October 12, 2010 8:01 pm

    so intrigued by those cookies! will definitely have to try!

  2. October 13, 2010 3:54 am

    Your oatmeal cookies sound like the perfect post-workout snack :)!

    • October 13, 2010 4:02 pm

      Thanks, Amy! They were pretty delicious, and the fact that they didn’t ruin the work I’d just put in at the gym was nice. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. A Disastrous Run « Pretty Fit, Pretty Healthy, Pretty Happy

Leave a Reply

