Skip to content

Pretty Fall Flowers and Some Less Pretty Leftovers

October 11, 2010

Dinner guest brought some pretty flowers last night…

I whipped up quite the spread for last night’s dinner, but due to my enthusiasm over the whole thing, I forgot to take pictures.

The menu consisted of:

  • Seared chicken in an apricot pear wine sauce (recipe coming soon!)
  • Balsamic zucchini, spinach, and carrots
  • Red quinoa

Here are the less-than-appetizing photos of the leftovers I had for lunch today. A CHICKEN AND QUINOA MESS!!

For in-between treats, I had some apple cinnamon tea…

… and I tried out a new flavor of Greek yogurt– fig! It was decent, though it tasted a little more like a dried plum than a fig. Still, not bad. The sugar content was a little staggering, though. 22 grams!

Dinner was pretty light– just a turkey sandwich. But, more importantly, I bought my favorite sandwich bread again: Orowheat Sandwich Thins!

The whole grain version has a good amount of fiber, about 5 g of protein, and only 100 calories for both slices. They also make good burger buns (look for that tomorrow) and replacements for bagel sandwiches. And depending on where you buy groceries, they can be sold as Arnold Sandwich Thins.

The Workout

I woke up absolutely exhausted this morning. If I sleep in at all on Sundays, I have the hardest time falling asleep that night. I skipped my morning workout (I draw the line at bloodshot eyes), but I came home after work and did one heck of a vinyasa yoga session. I broke a sweat!

Tomorrow morning, I’m back to being bright-eyed and bushy-tailed for an AM workout.

Look for It Tomorrow

Breakfast was inspired by a fellow blogger (whose blog I LOVE), lunch is another healthy twist on my Cuban roots, and dinner revisits the sandwich thin for yet another way to eat them. Have a restful night!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

