Skip to content

Fall Baking Fun

October 11, 2010

I went on a baking frenzy yesterday!

But first… a picture of Dakota in her Halloween costume.

She’s a mounted moose head! Is it still considered animal cruelty if the animal’s still alive when it’s mounted? Hmm… better check on that.

Enough sad animal-dressing, on to the baking! The first project was almost too simple to be true.

I took the chocolate butternut squash fudge idea from Heather Eats Almond Butter and put a twist on it, creating Pumpkin Gingerbread Fudge. It’s both dairy-free and vegan!

The fudge cake contains exactly two ingredients:

Gingerbread cake mix + a can of pumpkin– that’s it!

Mix ’em up…

…and put into an 8×8 glass casserole dish, baking for 35 minutes at 350 degrees.

They passed the taste test (and all the taste tests afterward). 🙂

If you can’t find gingerbread cake mix, I’m sure spice cake mix works well, too.

Next on the list was my present to my Internet baking buddy– pumpkin coffee cake.

I got the original recipe from Heather’s Dish, and I mostly kept to the recipe, minus the glaze and the 4 tablespoons of butter in the coffee cake.

First, I mixed together the wet ingredients.

And threw in a box of vanilla cake mix.

The recipe says to melt 4 tablespoons of butter with which to grease the pan, but that seemed like a bit much to me. So instead of that, I took a solid stick of butter and greased the pan with it. I used maybe a tablespoon for the whole pan and had no trouble with the coffee cake sticking. Plus it was kind of fun– like coloring with butter.

I poured in the batter, sprinkles some walnuts on top, and baked for 25 minutes at 350 degrees.

The finished product:

I wanted to top the cake with the brown sugar glaze, but because they were being sent in the mail, I had to make sure they’d travel well.

Here they are, all packed and ready to be sent to my baking buddy!

I sent her a little bit of the fudge cake too. I mean… what else am I going to do with a pan full of pumpkin gingerbread fudge cake? Way too much temptation!

Though they aren’t the world’s healthiest desserts, a piece of either won’t break the caloric bank. There’s no butter, eggs, or cream in the pumpkin gingerbread fudge cake, and there’s maybe one tablespoon of butter in the entire batch of the pumpkin coffee cake. For dessert last night, I warmed up a square of the fudge cake and served it with half a banana’s worth of banana soft serve.

Look for It Later Today

I made dinner for a guest last night, and I forgot to take pictures. 😦

BUT I did bring some for leftovers today, though the pictures aren’t going to do the dinner any justice. You’ll have to trust me that it was yummy.

And I’m bringing back a sandwich favorite.

Check back soon!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 12:03 pm

    oh no! i didn’t mean grease the pan with 4 Tbsp of butter…that was for the topping. i’m so glad you put this on here though, i’ll have to go back and make sure the recipe is right. so glad you tried it though! yours looks beautiful!

    • October 11, 2010 12:05 pm

      That makes so much more sense!
      But regardless… you made one mean recipe. It came out delicious! I can’t wait to make it for myself so I can use the glaze.

Leave a Reply

