Skip to content

Learning to Say No

October 8, 2010

The Problem

I’m a constant jam-packer of my weekend. At the start of every week, I tell myself, “I’m going to have a relaxing weekend this time.”

And it never ends up happening.

I did it again this weekend. I got guilted into going to 3 BBQs/birthday parties in one day. REALLY, BRITTANY?

Apparently, learning to say no is a learning process. They’re all my friends, and they all are important to me. But I need to remember that saying no isn’t the same as slamming a door in someone’s face.

Hey, there’s always next weekend.

I at least have to give myself credit for keeping Sunday relatively low key.

The Workout

… was nonexistent last night. I felt lightheaded all day, for reasons unknown, so I wasn’t able to go to yoga. I think as a makeup I’ll do my DVD when I get home tonight. It’s a good thing I didn’t go though, because I woke up this morning with a late onset of sore muscles from my session with Trainer Erika. My quads and abs are a-burnin’… but it’s a good burn. ๐Ÿ™‚

The Eats

I was in a savory mood this morning– very unusual!

I made a cornbread biscuit last night, and this morning I “fried” two eggs over-easy with a few sprays of olive oil. While the top was still very raw, I snipped some scallions on top and ground a little Trader Joe’s Everyday Seasoning. To top it off… a little Trader Joe’s Lite 3 Cheese Blend.

A little dollop of nonfat Greek yogurt was the perfect partner with the egg. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve got a really, really good reason for buying a grande bold today, rather than brewing a cup at home. Ready for it? Because it’s Friday. Good enough, right?


I’ve been excited to eat my lunch since I made it last night!

I used this guy once again, which is quickly becoming my new favorite ingredient to cook with.

And the lunch? Cheesy garlic-roasted sweet potato slices, with spicy black bean and dill yogurt dips. The dips came out so well that I wanted to eat them with a spoon!

It didn’t seem like enough, so I threw together a simple salad of spinach and an heirloom tomato and topped it with vanilla fig balsamic vinegar.

Roasted Sweet Potato with Spicy Black Bean and Dill Yogurt Dips

makes one serving

Potatoes

  • 1 small sweet potato, sliced 1/4″ thick
  • 1 tsp Garlic Gold
  • about 1/4 c shredded light cheese blend

Dips

  • 1/3 c canned black beans
  • leftovers of the Garlic Gold from the potatoes
  • 1/2 tsp hot sauce
  • 1/3 c nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp dill

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Put the teaspoon of Garlic Gold into a small bowl. Place sweet potato slices evenly on a pan and brush lightly with the Garlic Gold. There will be a few garlic flakes left at the bottom of the bowl– save them for the bean dip. Place sweet potato slices in the oven for 10 minutes.

Puree black beans until desired consistency (I left a few bean chunks in). Mix in hot sauce and left over Garlic Gold. In a separate bowl, mix together the Greek yogurt and dill.

After 10 minutes, remove sweet potato slices from oven and lightly sprinkle with cheese. Place back in oven for about 5 minutes, or until cheese bubbles.

Look for It This Weekend

I joined an online baking exchange, so I’ll be whipping up something yummy to send off to the person I was paired with. I also need to use that other half of the banana that’s frozen still, and I finally know just how. ๐Ÿ˜‰

As for Saturday, my posting might be a little light. Two BBQs and a birthday party don’t leave much time for other things.

Sunday I’m cooking dinner for someone, who agreed to a vegetarian meal (what a sport!), so there’s that, too. Here’s a hint: It’ll be fall-y. It’ll be squash-y. It’ll be… yummy? Here’s hoping.

Have a FABULOUS FRIDAY!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

