Skip to content

Almond Buttah Makes It Bettah!

October 7, 2010

The Workout

I usually am too in the zone to pay attention to the TVs by the cardio machines, but I was grateful for them last night– it’s the MLB playoffs! I was so into the Yankees game that I breezed right through my run.

Trainer Erika taught me a couple new moves during our session, so I thought I’d share. Click on the purple for pictures.

The Legwarmers

We’re supposed to get hit with another bout of hot weather tomorrow, so I thought I’d embrace my last day of fall-ish weather for now. I donned legwarmers for the first time ever. My friend Maggie said, “Oh good God. Those are ridiculous.”

But guess what? I kinda like ’em. And my legs are indeed warm. 🙂

Since I’m on the subject of the small taste of fall Los Angelenos got, here is a photo illustration of my feelings about the weather.

This is how fall weather makes me feel.

This is how I feel about the thought of another heat wave coming (IN OCTOBER!)…

Being a Florida native, I love me some warm weather. But it’s fall now. Bring on the chill.

The Eats

The following instance is why I write down what goes into my breakfast the night before.

I made pumpkin yogurt and topped it with pumpkin granola, but I couldn’t figure out why it didn’t taste amazing. It was missing something.

Duh. I was going to put bananas in it. That made all the difference!

I chopped up a banana, used half for breakfast, and put the other half in the freezer to make banana soft serve… tomorrow morning, perhaps?

Pumpkin Yogurt

  • 1/2 c Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 c canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 tablespoon honey*
  • 1 capful maple extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice*

*In retrospect, I think I should’ve been a bit more liberal with the honey and pumpkin pie spice. Try it out like this, and add more honey/spice if you need to. You might like it– I needed the bananas to give it an extra boost.

Lunch today is a take on a recipe I got from Caitlin at A Healthy Tipping Point.

I made a tempeh and veggie stir fry with a spicy almond butter sauce. It took about 10 minutes to make!

Tempeh and Veggie Stir Fry

makes 1 serving

  • 1/3 block of tempeh*
  • 1 cup frozen veggie mix (I use a stir fry mix that has no sauce)
  • 1 tsp Garlic Gold
  • 1 tablespoon almond butter (natural peanut butter works too)
  • 1-2 tablespoons almond milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon sriracha
  1. Crumble the tempeh and nuke the veggies until defrosted.
  2. Saute the tempeh and veggies with the Garlic Gold.
  3. In a small bowl, pour 1 tablespoon of almond milk and the almond butter. Microwave for 30 seconds. Take out and stir. Add more milk if consistency is not thin enough. Stir in sriracha.
  4. Plate the tempeh and veggies and top with the sauce.

*If I could do this recipe over, I’d saute just the crumbled tempeh first in the Garlic Gold, adding a little seasoning first, either Trader Joe’s Everyday Seasoning or some Mrs. Dash Italian Medley with a spinkle of chili powder. The tempeh was a little on the bland side, though still good.

Dinner is more of the slow cooker chicken soup. I think I have enough for 2 more days of soup after this! Good thing it’s delicious. And tonight is yoga, followed by Vampire Diaries. Thursdays are quickly becoming my favorite day of the week. 🙂

Look for It Tomorrow

I’ve got some sliced bananas gettin’ frosty in the freezer. I need to come up with another way to eat banana soft serve at breakfast (I’ve already got a pretty good idea, of the French kind)! Lunch is going to be vegetarian and a bit of a hodgepodge. Have a great Thursday!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

