Skip to content

Firing Up the Cauldron… Err Crock Pot

October 6, 2010

I made grits ‘n eggs this morning!

Well alright, grits ‘n ONE egg. I nuked the grits with water and stirred in 1/4 cup fat free cottage cheese and some sea salt just before the grits were done, and it was the perfect consistency and flavor when it was done. The egg was “fried” over easy with a few sprays of olive oil. The yolk broke when I flipped it for the “over easy” part. 😦

Juicy blueberries too!

Perfect breakfast with a touch of back home (Tampa isn’t really part of the South, but it has a Cracker Barrel… so that means something, right?).

I was feeling a little under the weather yesterday. I blame it on the following equation:

cold weather + rain – sleep = sick Brittany

I decided that it was time for some soup. I don’t mind canned soup, but it tastes so much better when I make it myself (duh). And there’s no easier way to make soup (okay, aside from opening a can) than to make it in a slow cooker/crock pot.

I trekked over to Whole Foods, parked my boat-sized Envoy in a compact spot because it was the only one left, and ran in quickly so my parking lot neighbor wouldn’t come back to a blocked-in car. Oops. Get a bigger parking lot, Whole Foods!

Here’s how easy it was to put together the soup: I poured water into the crock pot, set it on low, and then chopped and threw everything else in– raw.

And then I went to bed. That’s it.

This morning, I woke up and my whole house smelled like someone was cooking all night. More like someTHING, I suppose.

Good morning, chicken soup. 🙂

It was dreary, rainy, and cold again today. I ate my soup while listening to the Norah Jones channel on Pandora, and it was kind of perfect.

Brittany’s “I’m Not Sure, But I Might Be Getting Sick” Slow Cooker Chicken Soup

adapted from a Cooks.com recipe

  • 1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 5 c water (more if you like your soup to have lots of broth)
  • 5 tsp chicken bouillon or 5 bouillon cubes* (or one tsp/cube per cup of water if you’re adding more water)
  • 1 1/2 c chopped baby bella mushrooms
  • 3/4 c celery
  • 1/2 c sliced carrots
  • 1 medium heirloom tomato, chopped
  • 1/2 c brown rice
  • 1/2 c lentils
  • 1/4 c scallions (it’s easier to snip them with scissors rather than use a knife)
  • 1/2 tsp ground sage
  • 1/4 tsp lemon pepper

Put all ingredients into slow cooker and cook for 7-9 hours on low or 4 hours on high (my suggestion is to cook it on low and let it cook while you sleep).

*Take your time when choosing bouillon. Most contain harmful MSG, so read through the ingredients, and avoid anything containing “monosodium glutamate.” I used “Better Than Bouillon,” which I found at a regular grocery store.

Snack isn’t interesting. Neither is dinner, since I’m meeting with Trainer Erika tonight.

Look for It Tomorrow

I’m using a recipe from a fellow blogger to put almond butter to a whole new use. And I’m thinking I need either some banana soft serve or a little pumpkin for breakfast. Or both?

Have a great Wednesday, however your weather is!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

