Skip to content

Why I Go Gluten- and Dairy-Free (Some of the Time)

October 5, 2010

Why, when you look at my recipe page, do I denote which recipes are gluten and/or dairy free?

One word: Selena.

Alright, it’s not a word– it’s a name. My mom’s name, if you want to get into specifics. A few years ago, my mom was told she had Celiac disease. A couple of years after that, she was told she was allergic to casein, a dairy protein that’s even in some “lactose free” foods.

Bummer, right?

Not if I have anything to do with it.

My mom’s been making a real effort to adhere to her gluten- and dairy-free diet lately, so I thought– since I cook every single day– why not try out a few things that she could eat? I’m at the stove anyway, might as well come up with a few recipes for her that are already taste-tested to ensure they’re not disgusting (cough, cough, banana-black bean “cookies” cough cough).

Today’s breakfast, lunch, and snack are both gluten and dairy free. And delicious.

My mom’s been going nuts for pumpkin lately (hmmm… wonder where I got it from…), but she hasn’t been able to find something she can eat that’s allergen-free. Well guess what? I did.

Pumpkin-apple oats, topped with almond butter, pumpkin-flax granola, and dried mixed berries.

Punkin’ Apple Oats

  • 1/2 c gluten free rolled oats and 1 cup water OR 1/4 c gluten free steel cut oats and 3/4 c water*
  • 1/4 c canned pumpkin
  • 1/4 c no-sugar-added applesauce
  • 1 capful vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

Toppings:

  • 1/2 tablespoon almond butter
  • 1/4 c gluten free granola (I didn’t have GF granola on me… but it’s incredibly easy to find!)
  • dried mixed berries (Craisins work too)

Make oatmeal according to package directions. Once cooked, stir in the pumpkin, applesauce, vanilla, and pumpkin pie spice.

*I recommend Bob’s Red Mill, which can be found at Whole Foods and health food stores.

School spirit. Office coffee. Brittany happy.

Look who came to work today! She’s hiding in her corner with her blanket, and she’s very content.

For lunch, I’m pleading with my mom to try a green she’s yet to eat (and I’ll bet it’s only because of the bad, yet undeserving, rap it gets): BRUSSELS SPROUTS! I loved them the first time I made them, and they’re almost as versatile as spinach (I’ve yet to try them as a salad).

I sauteed them in Garlic Gold with half a chopped shallot and some seared bay scallops, then simmered it all in a little white wine. I had some brown rice already made, so that’s what it went with. Viola! Gluten free. Dairy free. Delicious.

I think I use my Pyrex bowls every single day. I’ve more than gotten my money’s worth out of them.

White nectarine for dessert = Β music to my mouth.

Today’s Workout

A little out of order today! Today’s workout was an “easier” one (there really wasn’t anything easy about it, just that it was low-impact)– I swam some laps at the gym. I wore my new goggles today, and the difference is unbelievable. It’s so much easier to swim laps when you don’t have to worry about water in your contacts or pieces of your hair creeping onto your eyeball. And I happened to get one of the last pairs that didn’t have seahorses or mermaids on them/were half the size of my head. Apparently I was shopping for an out-of-season item.

I saw a bandaid on the floor of the pool, though. Could’ve been okay with not knowing about that.

I have my session with Erika the Trainer tomorrow, so I think tomorrow morning might start with a little DVD yoga to stretch out some sore muscles.

Tofu Launch Party Unintentional Blowoff

I was invited to the Tofu U launch party at Palihouse tonight (only 4 blocks from my apartment!), and I was SO EXCITED about it. Though I don’t eat tofu because it comes from unfermented soy, I was excited to see all the cooking demonstrations and try them out with tempeh. Unfortunately, things came up (read: 11 HOUR WORKDAY), so I’m not able to go. 😦 😦 😦 😦

They have some pretty cool recipes on their site, though, so I guess that’s a small consolation. I really wanted to go, though. Oh well. Work first.

Snack today is something I’ve done before, but it tastes so good that I had to make it again.

Banana AB + J sandwich!

Dinner wasn’t gluten or diary free, but it’s my favorite way to eat tempeh: in a sandwich with some light cream cheese and jam.

Yum!

Look for It Tomorrow

It went from triple-digit weather to triple-layer weather in L.A.! I’ve got something yummy and cold weather-friendly brewing in the cauldron crock pot, and I’m bringing a little of the Old South to the breakfast table. Have a great night!

Time to get my Glee on. πŸ™‚

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 6:43 am

    Those oats look super good! My favorite part of fall is adding pumpkin to everything :]

    I tried the banana, pb & j and it was a great snack. I don’t know how yours looks so perfect though. I had peanut butter everywhere because it kept sliding off the banana haha. I’d definitely make it again.. just use a fork next time :]

    • October 7, 2010 1:22 pm

      Same with me… I love coming up with ways to add pumpkin to recipes.

      I’m not sure how the almond butter stayed on. It was a pretty thin layer and I did it slowly. Hmm. But sometimes messy almond/peanut butter is even better. πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Friday Food Finds | workingouteatingin

Leave a Reply

