Skip to content

Keepin’ It Cuban

October 3, 2010

This morning I had some breakfast with my friend Zulay at Porto’s. We had so much to chat about that we ended up spending 2 1/2 hours there!

I had some Cuban coffee (unsweetened with nonfat milk), a rellenita (ripe plantain with black beans inside), half of the pan con mantequilla, and half the fruit cup.

My hamstrings are still very sore, so I decided to give the exercising a rest for today. I’ll resume tomorrow morning after they’ve had time to heal. Instead, I took advantage of the gorgeous weather and walked half a mile uphill to Trader Joe’s and half a mile downhill with 2 pretty heavy grocery bags.

After a weekend of lots of carby and meaty foods, my body was craving some greens. For lunch I put together a meatless, light, fruity salad.

Spinach, blueberries, 1/3 block of tempeh, and a light sprinkle of fat-free feta, later topped with some balsamic vinaigrette.

I love tempeh! Unlike tofu, it’s made from fermented soy, so it doesn’t carry the same risks as unfermented soy. It has a lot of protein, so it makes for a great meat substitute. I’ve still got 2/3 of the block left, so look for it more this week!

It’s a short post today… lots to do! This weekend got to be a little too busy for a baking adventure, but there’s always during the week! Tonight I’m having dinner cooked for me. Not sure if it’s a good idea to take pictures…

Now it’s time to give little Dakota a bath. She is NOT excited.

Back to the gym grind tomorrow. Hamstrings, you’d better get yourselves in gear!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

