Skip to content

Meatless Pasta Bake and Another Pumpkin Fix

September 30, 2010

First off, a coming-soon announcement: Courtesy of my (warning: sorority-speak ahead) “great-grandlittle” Lauren, I’m creating a page to the menu above to help you navigate your way through the grocery store. It’ll have all the info you need to sift through the junk food and on to the good stuff.

Now back to your regularly-scheduled programming… the eats!

I’ve found my breakfast always comes out better in the morning if I plan it out the night before. I’ve become quite the morning person, but in that first hour, my brain isn’t really working at full power. So here’s what I’d planned out and stuck to the fridge:

That’s my baby sister, Mia– who’s 15 years my junior and is by far the most fun person to go shopping with.

The breakfast plan was then executed bright and early this morning.

Pumpkin smoothie.

Kamut cake with raw almond butter, a sliced strawberry and dark chocolate-covered cacao nibs (pieces of cocoa bean).

What a delish spread. Not pictured: the cinnamon bold coffee, which was sipped on the go.

Pumpkin-Banana Smoothie (measurements not 100% exact!)

  • 1/3 c pumpkin
  • 1/2 frozen banana (best if sliced up before freezing)
  • 1/3 c nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/3-1/2 c skim milk
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla protein powder
  • 1 capful vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice
  • 4-5 ice cubes

Blend! To add some healthy fat, add a little almond butter– no more than a tablespoon.

For lunch I got creative. Apparently the lentils sitting in my pantry didn’t belong to my room mate– I bought them quite a while ago and forgot. So I used them in an effort to skip meat in a meal. I present: the meatleass pasta bake.

Layer by layer: Tomato sauce, whole wheat gnocchi, chopped asparagus, lentils, tomato sauce, black olives, fat free feta.

Meatless Pasta Bake

  • 3/4 c whole wheat gnocchi, cooked
  • 1/4 c lentils, cooked according to package directions (measurement is before they’re cooked)
  • 1/2 c chopped asparagus
  • 1/4 c tomato sauce
  • 2 tablespoons black olives
  • 2 tablespoons fat free feta crumbles

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Layer ingredients like so: thin layer of tomato sauce, gnocchi, asparagus, lentils, tomato sauce, olives, feta. Bake in a glass dish* for 15-20 minutes.

*I use Pyrex food storage containers. Once it’s cooled after removing from the oven, you can seal it and throw it in the fridge without changing containers.

For a snack I had one of these guys:

… and then baked/devoured a peach.

I got let out of work early today (hooray!) so I headed home, felt a little lazy, and made pumped-up cereal. With banana soft serve. 🙂

Bran flakes, pumpkin granola, banana soft serve (pureed with cinnamon), dark chocolate-covered cacao nibs, and some skim milk.

Yoga class tonight! So excited. 🙂

Check out my friend Sarah’s new adventures as a vegetarian. She’s quite the handy lady in the kitchen: The Veggie Experiment. Look for her blog’s future home in the links to the right as well.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 3:11 pm

    I love Pyrex! Like cast iron, so darn versatile.
    Such a cute baby sis.
    I have to plan the same way. Great looking food!

    • September 30, 2010 3:57 pm

      Thanks (about both the food and little sister)!

      And yes, I’ve already more than gotten my money’s worth out of that little 3-bowl pack I bought months ago. Must. Get. More.

Leave a Reply

