Skip to content

Master of My Own Domain

September 29, 2010

You guys.

I have my own domain name.

My very own site with a .com at the end. This is extremely exciting to me.

So for those of you who are awesome and have bookmarked my blog, you can update your bookmarks to say…

prettyfitprettyhealthy.com

Seriously. I’m kind of giddy about it.

Today’s Workout

I felt a little tired this morning, and my workout kind of suffered from it. I was hoping to do more abs, but I was dragging big time towards the end (and towards the beginning, when I tripped up the stairs getting to the cardio machines). Here’s what I managed to do (if it’s purple there’s a picture of it):

  • 20 minutes of cardio intervals on the treadmill + cool-down
  • one-leg presses on the leg press machine- 2 sets of 12 reps on each leg with the weight set to 15 lbs
  • abs:
    • boat pose hold + crunches- 3 sets of 10 second holds and 10 crunches
    • hold boat pose for 30 seconds
    • leg lowers and holds- 10 seconds to lower, 10 seconds to hold, 5 sets
    • ground planks- 20 seconds both legs, 10 seconds lifting right leg, 10 seconds lifting left leg, 20 seconds both legs
    • stability ball plank– 1 minute
    • oblique twists with 6 lb medicine ball- 2 sets 15 reps

Alright, so maybe I did a little more than I thought.

Today’s Eats

It managed to stay in the 70s this morning, so hot cereal has once again become acceptable. Kamut returns!

Kamut with cottage cheese stirred in, topped with peach slices, light muesli, skim milk, and the pecan butter.

Oh yeah, and this guy showed up– meaning I bought him and carried him back to the office.

Peaches ‘n “Cream” Hot Kamut

makes one serving

  • 1/4 c kamut
  • 3/4 c water
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 capful vanilla extract
  • 1/2 peach, chopped small
  • 1/4 c cottage cheese
  • 1/2 c skim milk
  • 1/4 c light muesli (Whole Foods bulk section)
  • 1/2 tablespoon cinnamon vanilla pecan butter

Nuke the kamut and water for 3 minutes.* Stir in the cottage cheese and nuke for an additional minute. Remove and stir in the cinnamon and vanilla. Top with peaches, milk, muesli, and pecan butter.

*Make sure you microwave the kamut in a large bowl. Like steel-cut and Scottish oats, they puff up a lot during cooking and easily overflow, leaving a lovely surprise for you at the bottom of your microwave.

For lunch I went with one of my favorite healthy fall-backs– a stir-fry. I used red quinoa instead of rice (more protein!) and threw in some seared scallops with lots of veggies and a little teriyaki sauce. Oh yeah, and some sriracha. ‘Cause I like it spicy. 🙂

Quinoa & Scallop Stir-Fry

makes one serving

  • 1/4 c quinoa (I used red quinoa, but any kind works)
  • 1/2 c water
  • 5 oz bay scallops*
  • 1 1/2 c frozen mixed vegetables (stir-fry mixes that include onions work best)
  • 2 tablespoons teriyaki sauce
  • sriracha, to taste (optional)

Bring the quinoa to a boil in the water, then cover and simmer on low for 10-15 minutes. Sear scallops in a skillet over medium-high heat with a few sprays of olive oil. Nuke the veggies for 2-2 1/2 minutes. Combine all ingredients in the same skillet as the scallops and add the teriyaki sauce and sriracha over low heat.

*Shrimp is a good substitute!

Dessert. Typical. 😀

I think I’ve found a new favorite snack, courtesy of the toaster oven at work.

Baked half peach with 1/2 tablespoon cinnamon pecan butter in the center. It looked so delicious that I ate it with a fork and a knife. If you have a toaster oven, bake it for 10 minutes. If you have an oven, same time but at 350 degrees.

Dinner, inspired by my room mate’s meal last night, was tortilla pizzas! I got lazy though, and microwaved them, rather than walk downstairs and use the toaster oven again. So I ended up eating them like Italian tacos. Culinary laziness aside… they were a taste explosion– of the good kind. 😀

I ate two. Tummy happy.

Yoga tomorrow night! So excited to bring my new purple yoga mat and wear my new yoga pants. ❤

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

