Skip to content

Who Turned Up the Heat?

September 28, 2010

Whoa, nelly. The high yesterday crept up to 111. And the lowest was in the upper 80s, according to my car on my way home from the gym.

Consider this my sincere thanks, Dad, for buying me that portable air conditioner for my room.

Workout

Last night during my session with Erika, she taught me a new total-body exercise, and it was such a good workout that I felt the need to share it.

Starting out with an oblique lift, which wasn’t the new part (click on the pose name for a picture of it):

  • Start on your right side. Get into a side plank position. Lower your hips and raise them back up to side plank. Down-and-up is one. Try for 20.

Then on to the hard/new part:

  • In side plank (still on your right), lift your left leg up, keeping it straight. Lower it back down to its starting position. Up-and-down is one. Try for 10.

Now switch to your left. 20 oblique lifts + 10 side plank leg lifts on each side = one set. Try for 2 sets.

The side plank is already a good total-body pose, but the leg lifts work your hips, butt, arms, core, back, etc. even more.

My new yoga DVD came in yesterday! I got Shiva Rea’s Daily Energy Vinyasa Flow Yoga.

I tried it out this morning, and I can’t say enough good things about it. It’s way more intense of a workout than my AM/PM Yoga DVD, but it was still easy enough for a morning stretch/workout. It even has a feature called a “yoga matrix,” where you can mix and match and create your own yoga program with hundreds of combinations (and you can even add a 7-minute core workout!). Today, since I was a little pressed for time, I just did an Earth flow and Shavasana (final meditation). If you feel pretty comfortable with yoga, I’d give this one a try. If you’re new to yoga, definitely try the AM/PM one.

The Eats

Massive heatwave = return of the Overnight Oats.

Greek yogurt, skim milk, rolled oats, frozen berries all mixed up last night. Topped this morning with pumpkin flax granola, raspberry preserves, and the pecan butter.

Lunch today was spicy Mexican. Unlike yesterday, it wasn’t a fail.

Blue corn tortilla with tomatoes and brussesl sprouts sauteed in a teaspoon of Garlic Gold (bought at Whole Foods), crumbled Chili Chicken Lime burger, and 1/8 and avocado total topped with Greek yogurt and hot sauce.

The tortillas broke in half in transit to work, so it made for eating them taco-style a little tricky. I had two, and thanks to low-calorie tortillas (60 each) and lots of veggies, the whole thing was about 450 calories.

Dessert. Almost too red to be real.

I found a 12-pack box of Larabars at Target for less than $11. So exciting! Until I found out they were MINI Larabars. Oops. So I threw in an Asian Pear for an extra snack.

For dinner I made a chicken salad with dried berries on a bed of spinach.

Chicken Salad with Dried Berries

makes 1 serving

  • 3-4 oz chicken
  • 1/4 c non-fat Greek yogurt
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon mixed dried berries
  • pinch of dried rosemary
  • fresh spinach

Cook chicken with a few sprays of olive oil and a pinch of rosemary. Once cooked, shred into thin pieces. Mix with Greek yogurt and dried berries and serve on a bed of spinach. Optional: add your favorite light fruit-based dressing (such as a raspberry vinaigrette).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2010 1:03 pm

    Hi There, I am putting together an LA HLB bloggies meet-up for a 1:00 p.m. lunch on Saturday, October 23.

    If you are interested in joining us please email me at yellowbrickbeauty@gmail.com and let me know.

    Thanks!

  2. September 28, 2010 3:18 pm

    Hey there! I live in LA too, and omg the heat has been sooo killer! Just wanted to stop by and say love the blog!

    • September 28, 2010 3:57 pm

      Thanks so much!
      And last night I was sweating bullets trying to cook in my apartment. It had to be 90+ degrees in there!

Leave a Reply

