Skip to content

Training for a 10K

September 25, 2010

I love to run. I’m not that great at it– by my own expectations– but I absolutely love it anyway.

I ran my first race ever (a 5K) last year, the Merrel Down ‘N Dirty Mud Run. And this year I’ve promised myself I’d sign up for the 10K. I did my test run this morning, and boy do I have my work cut out for me.

A 10K = 6.4 miles. I ran 2.25 this morning. Afterward, I had to completely stop, because I almost fell off the treadmill.

Yes, I haven’t run nearly as often as I used to, due to my knee injury back in April, but still. 2.25 miles. The race isn’t until April, so that means I have almost 7 months to beat myself through an additional 4.15 miles. Oh. Boy.

Today’s Workout

  • 2.25 mile run
  • Ab workout
    • boat pose + crunches = 3 sets of 10 second holds and 10 crunches
    • leg lowers and holds = 5 sets of 10 second lowers and 10 second holds
    • planks- 20 seconds, lift right leg for 10 seconds, switch legs for 10 seconds, back to center for 20 seconds. Repeat.

I came home from the gym ready to make my version of Starbucks’ Spinach Feta Wrap (my favorite “fast food” breakfast), but my stomach was saying N-O to heavy food. So I had some pumped-up cereal with coconut water and gave the coffee a break for the weekend (although it may make an appearance later in the day…).

Bran cereal, mixed granola, the last of the pretty strawberries, and a little less than a tablespoon of dark chocolate covered cacao nibs with some almond milk.

I think the coconut water from Naked is my second favorite. I still like the kind by Taste Nirvana best (I HAVE to find it again!), but this one isn’t bad at all– and it has less sugar than Zico and O.N.E.

Dakota and I watched cartoons while I munched through breakfast…

… and now I’m off to rush through some errands before a breezy late lunch in Santa Monica.

Just kidding. I lasted almost 3 hours before I needed a cup.

NOW I’m off to lunch!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

