Skip to content

Being Grateful, and Other Mushy Things

September 24, 2010

This morning, while walking Dakota and sipping the remnants of my coffee, I came across a man who was pushing a shopping cart down my street, gathering people’s recycling to get a little extra money. He greeted me with a 1000-watt smile and with a thick accent said “Good morning! How ARE you?” Not just the usual “how are you,” where the expected response is “Good, and you?” but the kind where he actually expected a real answer. Some stranger– whose source of extra income (or maybe even his main source) was rifling through recyclables for change– cared how I was. And he seemed really happy to ask.

It made me think about all the things in my life that are right. It made me appreciate all the things that aren’t– but that I’m okay with. It made me a little sad that I didn’t take a little more time to be grateful for everything I have (a loving family, good friends, self-esteem, a job I love, a strong and healthy body that does what I need it to do)– and don’t have (serious worries about money, chronic illness, heartbreak, an unsatisfying job). It also made me wonder how in the world this guy was such a morning person.

So there’s your daily limit of mush from me. Moving on…

Last Night’s Workout

Yoga last night was great! I thought about taking pictures this morning of what I did for the first time in class, but I didn’t feel like setting my camera up with a self-timer. So you’re getting pictures of other people doing it (click on the names of the poses for pictures).

As part of last night’s flow, we did a tree pose, and last week when he said to take it a step further, I did what he called dying tree, which takes a lot more effort to stay centered and balanced. But this week? I found out I was actually flexible enough to do this and not only stayed balanced but was able to hold it the entire time. I was quite proud of myself. 🙂

I woke up with a sore butt, and I attribute it to one move: one-legged downward dog. You should definitely try it. Try holding it for a minute each side, and maybe a little longer if you can stand it!

We’re working on crow pose now. It’s going to take a little practice to get it right. I can only hold it for a few seconds!

Food! Food! Food!

One thing you should know about me is that when I make or eat something that tastes incredible, I tend to repeat it. Often. So this morning I made more Oats ‘n Ice Cream– but this time I fall-ified it (I know, you were really concerned that I hadn’t touched pumpkin in what… 2 days?)

Maple pumpkin oats with banana soft serve, topped with dried mixed berries and raw almond butter.

See what I was saying yesterday about getting melty banana in every bite? So. Delicious.

For lunch I mixed a little Cuban with a little Californian: a mojo chicken sandwich with yellow tomatoes, avocado, and Greek yogurt on sprouted wheatberry bread.

I hammered out about 3 oz of chicken until it was pretty flat and cooked it with mojo and Everyday Seasoning from Trader Joe’s (use Mrs. Dash’s Italian Medley as a substitute). I only used about 1/8 of an avocado and sliced it really thin, and it was more than enough. I’m searching the office’s snack shelves for an orange to slice up for dessert. I think there’s one left somewhere…

Why are Fridays so special? Because it’s FRO-YO FRIDAY*!

Most Fridays I head over to my favorite frozen yogurt place in L.A., Yogurt Stop, and pick up a little treat after a hard week of work and workouts.

Cake batter frozen yogurt with a little dollop each of red velvet and PB fro-yo. Topped with a spoonful each of red velvet cupcake crumbs, cookie crumbs, and mochi. Like I said: when I indulge, I INDULGE.

f

*Sometimes it also ends up being Fro-Yo Saturday and/or Sunday, but I’ve cut down quite a bit in recent months.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

