Skip to content

Oatmeal ‘n Ice Cream

September 23, 2010

The coconut water worked! Last night after getting my butt whipped by my trainer Erika, I left the gym sipping on my little juicebox of O.N.E., hoping it’d help with the extra beating my already-sore quads took. I woke up this morning to barely-there soreness!

As for the brand of coconut water, last night was my first time trying this one. It’s still not my favorite, though it tastes better than Zico. I still like Real Coconut Water by Taste Nirvana best. I’ve only seen it at one Whole Foods, but it has half the sugar of O.N.E., tastes sweeter (without artificial sweeteners) and not at all like carrots. I still have one more brand that I bought to try, so we’ll see.

Breakfast this morning was beyond words. I had ice cream. Kind of.

If there are any fun, healthy foods you should make, it’s the famed one-ingredient ice cream. If you haven’t heard of it before, be glad you’re reading now. It’s made with, yes, one ingredient: a frozen banana! The very minimal amount of fat (less than 1g) in a banana is enough to give it a frozen yogurt consistency when frozen and pureed.

So last night I sliced up a banana and stuck it in the freezer.

This morning I put the frozen slices into the food processor, pureed with a few shakes of cinnamon until it was smooth and creamy (about a minute or so), and served it on top of some cottage cheese oats and topped it with some raw almond butter and another pretty red strawberry.

The oats were piping hot, so the banana ice cream melted all over them and I got a bit of melty banana in every bite. Mmmmmm πŸ™‚

And as usual… some bold French roast with cinnamon thrown into the grounds pre-brewing.

Oats ‘N Ice Cream

makes 1 serving

  • 1 banana, sliced, frozen*, pureed to make soft serve (cinnamon optional)**
  • 1/4 c Scottish oats
  • 3/4 c water
  • 1/4 c fat free cottage cheese
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 capful vanilla extract
  • 1 sliced strawberry
  • 1/2 tablespoon almond butter or natural peanut butter

Nuke the oats and water for 3 minutes, stir in the cottage cheese, and nuke for another minute. While oats are cooking, puree the banana. When the oats are done, stir in the cinnamon and vanilla. Top with the banana ice cream, strawberry, and almond/peanut butter.

*You can freeze the bananas for as little as 1 hour. It actually takes a lot less pureeing when they’ve only been in the freezer for an hour or so.

** 1/2 a banana per serving is more than enough, though I didn’t mind the giant blob o’ ice cream. πŸ™‚

For lunch I made quinoa salad. It came out so well!

I know many of you don’t have a Trader Joe’s near you or happened to pick up a bottle of vanilla fig balsamic vinegar in wine country, so I suggested some substitutions:

Quinoa (“KEEN-wah”) Salad

makes 1 serving

  • 1/4 c quinoa (I used red quinoa)
  • 1/2 c water
  • 1 Trader Joe’s chicken apple sausage link, sliced small (3-4 oz of cooked & shredded chicken also works)
  • 1/4 an apple, peeled and chopped small
  • 2 tablespoons mixed dried berries (dried cranberries also work)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla fig balsamic vinegar (raspberry vinaigrette works too!)

Bring quinoa and water to boil. Lower heat and simmer for 10-15 minutes. Remove from heat and fluff with a fork. Add sausage, apple, and dried berries and mix well. Serve with vanilla fig balsamic vinegar drizzled on top.

Another idea: Take out the meat and add some sliced almonds to make a great side dish.

Dinner was something quick and simple that I whipped up last night. I cooked some chicken in a pan with a few sprays of olive oil and a few shakes of crushed red pepper for some heat, simmered it in about 1/4 c of white wine with yellow cherry tomatoes and spinach, and served it over some more of the whole wheat gnocchi. On top went a little fat-free feta.

So excited for yoga tonight*, but I wish my pretty new yoga mat had come in the mail in time. πŸ˜€

*I’m even more excited for Vampire Diaries afterward. There, I said it.

Leave a Reply

