Skip to content

A Day in Which I Eat Nothing But Cornbread

September 22, 2010

First off, I wanted to show you an article in Women’s Health that made me laugh: a workout with a pumpkin!

The article said to try the following exercises while holding a pumpkin (5-7 lbs):

Core Cincher– Lie faceup, arms and legs extended and slightly off floor, holding pumpkin overhead. Contract abs and crunch up as you raise legs (bend knees for an easier move) and shoulder blades and bring pumpkin toward toes. Hold for one second, then lower to start. Do three sets of 12 reps.

Arm Accentuator– Start in push-up position, palms under shoulders, with pumpkin turned sideways under chest on floor. Keeping torso aligned with neck and elbows near sides, lower chest to pumpkin. Straighten arms to return to start. Do three sets of 10 reps.

Side Sculptor– Sit on floor with knees bent, feet flat, holding pumpkin at chest level. Recline torso 45 degrees. Contract abs and twist torso slowly to left and then to right for one rep. Do three sets of 15 reps.

Not bad! Though you could probably do this with a medicine ball (or even a jug of water) and feel a little less weird. It was a cute way to tie in fall, though.

So why eat nothing but cornbread all day? Other than the fact that I don’t want to waste it (I had to toss some of the pumpkin muffins 😦 ), I wanted to show how versatile one type of gluten-free bread is. More coming another day on why I tend to focus on gluten or dairy-free foods. One hint: it hits close to home!

For last night’s baking project, I made a version of Bob’s Red Mill cornbread. Here’s the original recipe.

I tweaked it a bit, as usual, and used corn flour (like Heather from HEAB), switched the sugar for agave nectar, used almond milk instead of buttermilk, and used half the salt recommended (I’m not big on salt!).

It probably wasn’t such a great idea to hold the gas oven open to take a picture, but I was holding my breath!

Low-Fat Corn Flour Bread

  • 1 1/2 c Almond Milk
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tablespoon agave nectar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 c corn flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all ingredients and pour into greased 8 x 8 glass pan. Bake for about 20 minutes.

Because I used corn flour instead of cornmeal, I didn’t get the grainy texture you’d usually have with cornbread. I didn’t miss it, though.

For breakfast, I took two slices, poured a little almond milk over them (it made them really moist!), nuked them for 30-45 seconds, and topped them with light cream cheese and reduced-sugar blackberry preserves. The cream cheese melted just a little because of how hot the cornbread was. 🙂

Threw in a big cup of French roast with some pumpkin pie spice brewed with the grounds.

For lunch I made (very) spicy BBQ chicken and served it over the cornbread with some spinach. Mmmmmm…

Followed by some  very juicy vitamin C…

The pictures are coming out so much better! Today is personal trainer day, which means a very light dinner so I don’t get sick during my session.

Ooey-gooey almond buttery goodness– the gluten and dairy free AB&J “sandwich.” I warmed the cornbread so the AB melted right off it. Topped it with raspberry preserves.

I wisened up– I’m bringing my coconut water to the gym for an immediate post-workout potassium boost. My legs are still sore! Here’s hoping Erika goes easy on the quads.

Yoga tomorrow! So excited!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 6:53 am

    I saw that pumpkin workout the other day and it made me laugh.

    That cornbread looks so amazing! I’ve been eating your overnight oats recipe every day for breakfast (so good!) so this will be a nice change up. Thanks for all the yummy food :]

    • September 23, 2010 9:04 am

      You are so welcome! And yes, the overnight oats are addicting. I need to make them again soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

