Skip to content

Pumping Up Your Cereal

September 21, 2010

I woke up to the sorest legs I’ve had in recent memory. I think doing two days of intense intervals might have done them in. But since I was already up, I figured I might as well head to the gym but take it easy and just swim a few laps.

Even my abs are sore today! Must’ve been the planks on the stability ball.

Hopefully the potassium boost from my coconut water will help. It accompanied me on my drive to work (and yes, my car was off when I took the picture– L.A.’s roads are scary enough!).

So on to breakfast. Today I had cereal. Doesn’t sound exciting, but it can be.

Cereal on its own is pretty boring, even if it’s something delicious and sugary like Cap’n Crunch. I finish a bowl and feel like I’m not really satisfied– and that’s usually because all I’ve had is refined carbs and added sugar. So I’ll show you how I turn cereal into something that’s filling, healthy, sweet, and yummy.

Today’s cereal started out with a cup of bran flakes– boring. Then I added 1/4 cup of mixed granola and about a tablespoon of dark chocolate covered cacao nibs (from Whole Foods). Chocolate in my cereal = heaven.

For the topping I chopped 4 small strawberries and half a banana (the other half will make an appearance later today 🙂 ).

Add in a cup of almond milk and you’ve got breakfast! And I still can’t get over how gorgeously red those strawberries are…

Showing a little school pride at work. 🙂 We actually have cinnamon in the office, so I threw some in with the coffee grounds before brewing and it gave a nice hint of spice.

Yesterday’s pumpkin gnocchi was so delicious, I dreamt about it all day. So I made it again.

I’m going to have to start bringing in prettier plates for pictures. The office paper plates are… well, boring. Anythewho, I took a cue from Kath Eats Real Food and made a banana sandwich! I slathered a little almond butter and raspberry preserves in between a sliced half of a banana. The cinnamon-y cottage cheese ended up getting a little dollop of raspberry preserves as well. Too cheesy a flavor for just cinnamon!

I’ve been loading up on potassium today, but seeing as my muscles are already sore, it kind of seems like closing the gate after the horse got out. Oops. Tomorrow with my trainer ought to be interesting.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2010 6:43 pm

    I love the banana PB&J sandwich idea. I’m swiping that for my kids – they will love it!

    • September 21, 2010 8:32 pm

      Oh man was it delicious. They’re going to love it. 🙂

  2. September 22, 2010 7:30 pm

    I eat just PB and banana. So good already.
    Beautiful strawberries!

    • September 22, 2010 9:55 pm

      Thanks! And yes, I love just nut butter and bananas also!

Leave a Reply

