Skip to content

A Fall Favorite Made Skinny

September 20, 2010

Mondays seem so much less like… well, Mondays, when they’re jump-started with a morning workout! Today I met my friend Jonathan at the gym for his first time back in the swing of things. He looked a little bleary-eyed, but he lasted longer than me, and he taught me a new machine!

Today’s Workout:

  • 25 minutes of intervals on the elliptical
  • lat pulldowns- 2 sets of 12 reps at 40 lbs
  • glutes machine– 1st time! 2 sets of 10 reps on each leg at 10 lbs
  • Ab workout
    • Planks with feet on the stability ball- 20 seconds both feet, 10 seconds left leg up, switch legs for another 10 seconds, back to both legs for 20 seconds. Repeat once more.
    • boat pose + crunches- 3 sets of 10 reps
    • leg lowers + hold- 5 sets

For breakfast I tried something new with my oats– cottage cheese! I stirred it in toward the end of the oatmeal’s cooking time and it melted perfectly.

I topped the oats with a strawberry banana puree I made last night and a granola mix from the Whole Foods bulk section: light muesli and pumpkin flax. And because it’s Monday, I got a grande bold from Starbucks (like how I justified that?).

Boo for blurry pictures. 😦

Today’s oats:

  • 1/4 c Scottish oats
  • 3/4 c water
  • 1/4 fat-free cottage cheese
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 capful vanilla extract
  • strawberry banana puree (1/2 banana + 3 small strawberries)
  • pumpkin flax + light muesli granola

Stir the oats and water together and microwave for 3 minutes. Take out, stir in cottage cheese, and microwave for another minute. Stir in cinnamon and vanilla and add toppings.

… and now for the lunch I’ve been excited to eat all day: Whole Wheat Gnocchi with a Pumpkin Cream Sauce!

Before you raise your eyebrows at the “cream sauce” part… it’s NON-FAT cream sauce. Pretty awesome, right?

The sauce: I started by spraying a bit of olive oil and browning the shallots. Then I threw in the chopped up Chicken Apple sausage (the sweetness of the apple went great with the pumpkin!).

Then I reduced the heat and stirred in nonfat Greek yogurt, the pumpkin, and spices.

Served over a bed of spinach to add some green into the mix. 🙂

Whole Wheat Gnocchi, Chicken Sausage, and Pumpkin Cream Sauce

makes 1 serving

  • 3/4 c whole wheat gnocchi, cooked according to package directions
  • 1/4 c canned pumpkin
  • 1/4 c nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 shallot, chopped
  • 1 medium sausage link (you can use any kind really, but I used Chicken Apple Sausage from Trader Joe’s)
  • seasoning to taste (I used Trader Joe’s Everyday Seasoning, but Mrs. Dash Italian Medley also works)

Over medium heat, brown the shallot and add the sausage and seasoning. When cooked, reduce heat to low and add the yogurt and pumpkin. Stir until thoroughly heated and remove from burner. Serve over a bed of spinach and the whole wheat gnocchi.

After lunch it was a doughnut peach…

… and some strawberries with a little almond butter.

Dinner tonight is a hodge-podge, but sometimes that’s what I prefer– no theme, just different foods that taste good. 🙂

Chicken apple sausage (I can’t get enough of these, clearly), 1/2 sweet potato with black beans, and a spinach salad with a little Champagne Pear Vinaigrette.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marge permalink
    September 22, 2010 10:38 am

    That’s my favorite machine!

    • September 22, 2010 2:41 pm

      I usually do one-legged presses for butt and inner thighs, but this one was like one-legged presses on steroids. New favorite!

Leave a Reply

