Skip to content

Chocolate at Breakfast, Baking Surprise Later

September 18, 2010

I got a late”ish” start this morning, so after the gym I came home and made a light breakfast, courtesy of The (Never Home)Maker (click for the recipe).

First the workout*:

  • 20 minutes of intervals on the elliptical
  • back workout on machines:
  • One-legged press– 2 sets of 10 reps on each leg at 15 lbs (this one KILLS your butt, hips and inner thighs!)
  • ab workout on the mat:
    • hold boat pose for 10 seconds, do 10 crunches while bringing bent legs in and out- 3 sets
    • 20 seconds plank, 20 seconds plank with right leg lifted an inch or two off the ground, switch legs for 20 more seconds, back to regular plank for 20 seconds (no stopping in between)
    • legs up, lower slowly over 10 seconds, hold a few inches off ground for 10 seconds, rest- 4 sets
    • Russian twist– 3 sets 15 reps with 10 lb weighted plate

*If you’re not familiar with the workouts/equipment I used, please start with a lighter weight and/or talk to a trainer to help you use the equipment properly and safely!

On to breakfast…

I made coco-berry almond butter!

Per usual, I Brittany-fied the recipe a little, both to fit my tastes and to fit what’s in my pantry. I used regular cocoa powder instead of dark (1 tablespoon), used mixed berries instead of raspberries (1/4 c), and used raw almond butter instead of peanut butter (2 tablespoons). And for an added boost, I threw in a tablespoon of chocolate protein powder.

It looks a little more berry-colored than the original recipe, but that may be due to the lighter cocoa powder.

My mom got me these pinch bowls for Christmas last year. They’re adorable. 🙂

I slathered the whole thing on a piece of sprouted wheatberry toast. And I forgot to take a picture before diving in. Oops.

I split a pot of coconut macaroon coffee with the room mate. I can do milder blends on the weekend, but come Monday? Bring on the bold, baby.

On my way out I came across the most amazing rose outside my apartment. It’s marbled! Can you see the bee in the middle? I did my best not to disturb him.

Lots of grocery shopping means treating myself to the hot food section of Whole Foods.

Kamut blend, tandoori chicken, and lots of veggies. I ended up adding some sriracha afterward for some heat.

… and now for the baking surprise!

I’ve been craving Starbucks’ pumpkin cream cheese muffins, but there’s no way they’re worth their whole 470 calories. So I’ve been looking into ways to make a healthier version at home. And I did it!

I got the original idea from Love of Oats and changed it up a lot. So here’s the start:

It only filled 11. 😦

Into the food processor goes the cream cheese and honey.

I poked a hole in each with my finger and filled it with the cream cheese mixture that I squeezed out of the Ziploc.

So delicious!

Pumpkin Oats & Cream Cheese Muffins

  • 2 c oats
  • 1/2 c canned pumpkin
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 2 capfuls maple extract
  • 1 capful vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 egg
  • 1 c milk
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons pumpkin pie spice

Cream cheese filling:

  • 1/2 block light or fat-free cream cheese, softened
  • 2 tablespoons honey

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix muffin ingredients together and fill a lined cupcake pan.

Put cream cheese and honey in a food processor or mix in a bowl with a hand mixer. Empty into a Ziploc and cut a small slit in the corner. Poke a hole in each cup of batter and fill with cream cheese mixture.

Bake for 12-14 minutes.

Are there any baked goods YOU wish were healthier?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

