Skip to content

Starving Yourself, And Other Things That Don’t Work

September 17, 2010

The good news: I got out of work early enough for yoga!

The bad news: I left my camera at home, so today’s food pictures are going to suck. Blackberry cameras = no bueno.

I wanted to talk about a few things people do when it comes to “being healthy” that drive me crazy. I know that there isn’t one thing that works for everyone, but there are some things out there that, in the long term, work for no one. Here are a few:

1. Skipping meals. I read once in Cosmo that skipping a meal every once in a while is good for your metabolism. You know what’s even better for your metabolism? Exercise. Instead of going hungry between breakfast and dinner, why not eat a delicious lunch and fit in a breezy jog at some point? It’s different if you ate a huge breakfast and still aren’t hungry at lunch, but if noon rolls around and your stomach is growling, listen to it. Feed it.

2. Fad diets. If you can’t continue the diet for the rest of your life, there’s a pretty good chance all that work will be in vain. And all that yo-yoing is terrible for you.

3. Cleanses, colonics, etc. Your body does an amazing job of keeping itself clean. As long as you feed it good food and take care of it, it will take care of the rest.

4. Sticking to the same workout routine every single day. Think of your relationship with exercise like a relationship with a person. If every time you’re together you do exactly the same thing, your relationship is going to lose its luster pretty quickly, isn’t it? I’m not saying you should never do the same routine twice, but there are so many ways to stay active, there’s no reason to stick to a treadmill and a pair of weights.

5. Being too hard on yourself. We’ve all had that night when we eat a burger, follow it with ice cream, and then go out and have 5 margaritas (Wait, you haven’t? Okay, well maybe just me…). It’s life– you’re allowed to splurge. Don’t consider it a failure that you fell off the horse. Consider it a success that you woke up the next morning and decided to jump back on. If you beat yourself up every time you “mess up” (and I use the quotes because there’s no reason to feel guilty about a splurge), you’re going to develop a miserable, negative relationship with food… and with yourself.

That being said, since I’m human and forgot to bring my camera, here is a mediocre picture of breakfast, which doesn’t do it justice in the least: A pumpkin-oatmeal pancake, ala Kath Eats Real Food (LOVE her blog!), topped with some almond butter and raspberry preserves.

I’m not going to post the recipe, because the only thing I did differently was add a tablespoon of vanilla protein powder and a small splash of almond milk.

Lunch was divine. I went out for tacos with a coworker and ate al fresco, my favorite way to eat. I had two grilled fish tacos with honey chipotle salsa. It wasn’t spicy enough for my taste buds (I LOVE heat because it makes you chug more water and it gives food big flavor for little calories), but it still hit the spot, and then some.

Snack’s going to be pretty light, as lunch stuffed me. Say goodbye to the very last chunk of sprouted wheatberry bread! He’s heading off with some blueberries and blackberries.

No workout for today. I think I’m due for a break!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

