Skip to content

Discovering Your City On Foot

September 11, 2010

It’s not lost on me how great it is living in L.A.– and not for the reasons that most think. Within a few miles, L.A. has flat land, hills, mountains, and tons of beaches!

Not every city is as geographically diverse, but that doesn’t mean there isn’t still a lot to be explored. When I was in Tampa, I lived close to my dad’s house. So when he asked me to come by for dinner, I would run there (and walk in red-faced and ravenous). My friend Keli and I also went to a park one day and discovered a running trail. Live near a beach? Go for a run– just wear some socks to protect your feet from seashells. My point is, there are tons of ways to explore the outdoors in your own back yard. You don’t always have to be stuck in a gym to stay in shape!

So after a somewhat late night last night at an 80s party with Laura…

I woke up this morning and went for a hike with my friend Mike at Runyon Canyon. Recognize those leggings? Yeah… they’re repeats from the night before. Hey, they weren’t dirty.

Okay... so I don't really look like this when I hike. Cue to an hour and a half later and you'd see a messy ponytail and sweat from head to toe. Sexyyyyy.

Brunch afterward consisted of Challah French toast. I tried to get seeded muesli bread at Whole Foods, but Mike kept making faces at it, so I conceded and got Challah.

Mike used syrup, but I topped mine with some almond milk mixed with 1/2 tablespoon of almond butter– which I nuked for a minute, stirring once in between– and a little bit of reduced sugar blackberry preserves from Trader Joe’s.

Challah At Me French Toast

made more than enough for me + a dude with an appetite

  • 1/2 loaf Challah bread, cut into slices 2 fingers wide
  • 2 eggs (or 4 egg whites)
  • 3 cups almond milk or skim milk
  • 1 capful of vanilla extract
  • cinnamon and sugar (I used just cinnamon on mine and it was more than enough sweetness)

I cooked it on medium-low heat and turned it often. Since it was thick, I wanted to cook the slices on a low enough heat where the insides wouldn’t be too raw and the outside wouldn’t be burnt to a crisp.

Next time I think I’ll try making it with a more nutritionally-dense bread. Challah is great on occasion, but I can taste the amount of butter in it.

… and then I went into a minor carb coma and took a nap on my couch.

Brunch was a little late in the day, so skip ahead to snacktime at Yogurtland. I love all things fall, and they have pumpkin pie fro-yo. I was in heaven.

Pumpkin pie and cheesecake fro-yo topped with graham cracker crumbs.

For dinner tonight, I decided to take the cheese grater for a spin with something other than cheese– zucchini! I had a few left, so I decided to finish them off. I sauteed 2 grated zucchinis (only 20 calories per cup) with 2 medium sized portobello mushrooms and threw in some balsamic vinegar (5 calories per tablespoon).

I shredded about 4-5 ounces of chicken and put it on top.

Side note: When I cook, I don’t like using cooking sprays because of the added chemicals and propellants (Olive oil with a side of propane and butane? Mmmaybe not…), but I don’t like pouring oil all over the pan, either. So I bought a travel-sized spray bottle and put some olive oil in it. Voila! Olive oil spray with nothing in it but olive oil.

That about wraps it up for today. It is Saturday night, after all. So I’m off!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

