Skip to content

First Post! First Post!

September 10, 2010

An introduction is probably unnecessary, seeing as the “About Me” section takes care of that, but maybe I’ll start with an introduction to my blog. So here goes.

I’ve lived a healthy, active lifestyle for about a year and a half straight (even when I have a cold!), and I used to post random food I ate and talked about staying fit on my old blog, and it was the wrong place for it. So here I go, starting fresh!

What I eat: when I eat, I try to know exactly what’s in the food I’m eating– either because I made it myself or because it’s got little to no preservatives or chemicals in it. I also try to stay away from tofu and most soy products because of articles I’ve read about soy’s effect on the thyroid (but more on that at a later date). I also try to stay low in fat, and whenever I eat fat, it’s almost always unsaturated fat. Despite my active lifestyle and healthy eating habits, I’ve got borderline high cholesterol because of my genes. So in order to control it without medicine, it’s lean meat, fish, avocados, and nuts for this lady.

AND NOW ON TO THE EATS!

I ran a couple of miles after work yesterday, so I gave myself a cardio break this morning and did some abs and back at the gym (I love how much skinnier you feel/look in the morning… don’t you?). When I came home, I made a vegan/gluten-free banana and peach smoothie:

Banana-Peach Vegan and Gluten-Free Smoothie

  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 peach
  • 1 c unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla protein powder
  • 1 T raw almond butter
  • 6 ice cubes

Chop the banana and peach and freeze overnight. In the morning, throw it all into the blender and let it whirr!

Fun fact: when you’re using a frozen banana, you don’t need to add yogurt to the smoothie. A pureed frozen banana has the same consistency as soft serve yogurt!

And I made some coffee to go.

I used some Dunkin Donuts Dark and threw in some pumpkin pie seasoning (ready-made mix of cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and cloves) in with the grounds. It gives it a nice hint of fall. 🙂

As much as I love Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Latte, even the tall, non-fat, no-whip version is 200 calories. Good for a treat, not as an everyday jump-start.

Then it was off to work!

I pack my lunch almost every day. It solves the problem of finding something healthy at the places we order from (chicken, veggies, and brown rice AGAIN? no thanks…), and this way I can eat exactly what I want!

Today’s lunch consisted of 2 zucchini, 2 small tomatoes, and 1 medium portobello mushroom chopped and tossed around a pan with some balsamic vinegar:

… and followed by half an AB&J sandwich on Trader Joe’s Sprouted Wheatberry Bread (you’ll soon learn about my obsession with all things Trader Joe’s).

Snack time!

My snack probably requires a little explanation.

The yogurt mixture is a combination of 2/3 cup of non-fat Greek yogurt (Oikos and Trader Joes’ versions are my go-to, since they have the most protein and the least sugar), a chopped up Blueberry Fiber Mini Cake, and some blackberries all mixed together. A handful of Peanut Butter Puffins goes on top!

I love the blueberry fiber mini-cakes (they look/taste like muffins… and they’re only 80 calories!), but sometimes they’re a little too sweet on their own. Mixing them with Greek yogurt balances it out a little.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

